Kenwood House - What To See
Go upstairs to see the full length Elizabethan portraits of the Suffolk Collection and examine the amazing costume details.
Kenwood House sits high on the northern edge of Hampstead Heath and overlooks a lake making it the ideal location for summer concerts.
An English Stately HomeActually no. Kenwood House has never been owned by an Englishman. A Scottish family owned it for over two centuries and it is now owned by an Irishman (Earl Iveagh). Kenwood House is managed by English Heritage.
The architect Robert Adam gave Kenwood House its neoclassical look when he renovated in the 1760s and the gardens were laid out by Humphry Repton in the 1790s.
Edward Cecil Guinness, the first Earl of Iveagh, bought Kenwood House and 74 acres of parkland in 1925. The house's contents had been auctioned so the large empty rooms provided the perfect place for the Guinness brewery magnate to display his art collection to the public, while also ensuring the future of this exceptional building.
Suggested Visit Duration
Kenwood House GardensDo explore the pathways and woodlands around Kenwood House as well as the extensive lakeside gardens. Look out for sculptures by Henry Moore and Barbara Hepworth.
How To Get to Kenwood House
Nearest Tube Stations: Archway and Golders Green, then 210 bus.
Nearest Train Stations: Gospel Oak or Hampstead Heath
Parking: Small Pay and Display car park available or free car parking available on Hampstead Lane.
Opening HoursOpen seven days a week: 11.30am - 4pm
Closed: 24-26 Dec and 1 Jan